Posted by: mspremiseconclusion | July 22, 2010

How to Crochet your Dragon

So, I just loved the movie How to Train Your Dragon. I loved it so much, I had to see it twice. As soon as I saw it, though, I thought two things: 1) Toothless the dragon looks and acts EXACTLY like my cat, Boo. E.x.a.c.t.l.y. 2) I must crochet a Toothless.

I have actually started to do this, but it’s going to be a long process. I’m really particular about how it looks so it seems like for every few rows I crochet, I rip about twice as many out again. Maybe I’ll post my progress, although right now it doesn’t look like much of anything.

As inspiration, here are some amazing dragons that I found on the interwebs:

My absolute drool-over-it favourite from Angry Angel. (She also sells the pattern at her Etsy shop. Squee!)

On the cutesy side of things… Here is a sweet little pink dragon from Earless Owl on Flickr.

Next up is a cuddly looking green dragon with some nice, yellow scales. This is done by Pii Chii on Flickr. (I love the nostrils!)

And finally, a realistic looking fiery red dragon by The Itsy Bitsy Spider who sells this pattern at her Etsy shop.

Responses

  1. You found some great patterns! I tried to crochet one dragon but unfortunately the pattern was very unclear and I gave up and made an alligator instead since it was a rush job for a birthday gift.

    • That dragon story is so unfortunate! At least you had some mad skills so that you could make it into an alligator, though!

  2. Squeeee! I loved Toothless soooo much, I may have to buy if you ever list one in your store. Best of luck with the creative process!

    • Yay for Toothless!! There are some really cute Toothless patterns that I’ve spotted on Etsy… you might want to check those out too!

  3. I haven’t seen how to train a dragon, but I can’t wait to see your dragon! I love the red one at the bottom…
    Post your progress! it will be cool to watch!

  4. Can’t wait to see your version. :) I love this one: http://sarsel.deviantart.com/art/HTTYD-Night-Fury-amigurumi-165027131?q=favby:LillianLai/39088653&qo=4


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

