Posted by: mspremiseconclusion | February 4, 2012

Poncho

This Christmas, I got Dad a whittler’s pocket knife from Lee Valley. (You really can’t go wrong with giving my Dad a pocket knife as a present.) He was so excited. As soon as we’d had breakfast, he was already down in the basement pulling out the best block of wood to carve something out of.

That something ended up being Poncho.

Image

Pretty crazy, right?

Dad had quite a lot of fun carving him. He’s even invented an entire back story for Poncho. See the chunk out of one of his ears? That was from a bar fight. Even his gun is holstered backwards. Because that’s just how he rolls.

Image

Dad even pounded out some metal for the spurs and attached some copper on the rifle. 

When I left after Christmas, Poncho was just starting to materialize. At the time, he had a uni-brow, but Dad has since decided that Poncho should have two separate eyebrows. Here’s a picture of Poncho when his feet were still a work in progress:

Image

And he’s not even done yet! Next, Dad’s going to paint him. I haven’t seen any pictures yet, but Mom says his pants look like they’re made out of real worn khaki. I’ll update you all on Poncho once I get my hands on some pickies.

Responses

  1. Wow! Your dad is very talented.

  2. You can tell a lot about a man by the stuff he carries in his pockets. As a boy, I was always intrigued by the things my grandpa and dad carried in their pants every day. I loved rummaging around in the basket on top of the refrigerator where my dad kept the contents of his pockets. Everything in there just seemed so cool and manly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

