Around the House, Cool Stuff, Crochet Tips, Current Projects, Free Patterns

Kitschy Curtain Tie-Backs

My sad, sad kitchen was in desperate need of some curtain tie-backs. This just happened to coincide with my mini-obsession of crocheting little flowers from crochet diagram patterns. SO, I thought to myself, why not kill two birds with one stone: amp up the kitsch factor in my kitchen and find a use for all these flowers that I’ve been accumulating!

Left Curtain Tie-BackRight Curtain Tie-Back

I found my inspiration from an article on craftstylish.com (you can read about it here). I used two flower patterns: a Pierrot yarns corsage flower (free on Ravelry, here) and a MyPicot roses pattern (also free and here).

I made a chain that corresponded to how long I wanted the tie-backs to be and I crocheted 2 rows of Double Crochet stitches. I added a shell border by doing 5 Sc in one stitch, Sl st in the next stitch all the way around. (This makes a super frilly border). As a final and all-important touch, I sewed on the flowers.

And the result: kitsch level reached! Kitchen happiness improved!

Now I really want to think of other uses for all the crochet flowers that are piling up … Any ideas?

5 thoughts on “Kitschy Curtain Tie-Backs”

  1. I LOVE these tie backs but having a problem pulling up the pages for both the roses and the corsage flower. Could you get me the patterns for both??? I cannot find any tiebacks that I remotely like. I would appreciate any help! 🙂 My email: missmeloche@yahoo.com
    Sherry

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that
    I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be
    subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access
    consistently fast.

Leave a Reply

