Star-Phalapod
Amigurumis, Cool Stuff

Cephalopod Crochet

It’s no wonder that people like to crochet cephalopods (read: octopusessess and the like). I mean, crocheting in rounds lends itself quite nicely to making tubular and roundish shapes. And what is an octopus/squid/cuttle fish if not a bunch of tubular and roundish shapes put together?

That being said, it’s how you put them together that makes an amigurumi cephalopod special. And when I say special, I mean ridiculously cute. And that’s saying something, considering that I wasn’t able to linger long on the Wikipedia page for cephalopods because they were too icky to look at!

Without further ado, here are some Etsy finds that are my favourite cephalopods:

First up, a ridonkulously cute octopus, fittingly called a ‘Star-Phalapod’ from sereneonion:

Star-Phalapod

Next is a sweet little squid from BugsAndMonsters:

Purple-Pink Squid

And, finally, a crochet pattern for three little octopus friends from trulyoutrageous. I especially love their curly-cue feelers (what are those things called?)

Octopus Crochet Pattern

Oooh, Cephalopods!!

2 thoughts on “Cephalopod Crochet”

  1. lol I’ve been making Octopi for the last 2 days!!! Weird!

    I think we live in the same city so if you’re interested a bunch of us have a Stitch and Bitch at Starbucks in Indigo Mondays at 6pm til Whenev.

  2. No way!! I would have loved to join you guys if I’d known about your Stitch and Bitch (I used to live like a 7 min walk from there!) But I just moved to Burlington last month … buh – mer.

Leave a Reply

