Christmas Ornaments
Around the House, Current Projects

Wowsers!

Holy huge-break-from-posting, Batman! All I can say is that all work and no play make Emily a worn out and sleepy girl who doesn’t post so much. And I’ve missed it!! But the good news is, I’ve been working on lots of crafts. And I’ve got a bunch on the back-burner… I’m honestly not sure where to start!

Well, I guess we left off at Christmas, when I got a sewing machine. Boo loves it. When I sew, he likes to sit behind it, perfectly still, in a pose that I can only describe as ‘stoic’. This is very strange because he very rarely is still in any way at all.

Boo and sewing machine

‘Stoic’, right?

So, I started by sewing a few totes using a really fun pattern I found online. I was influenced by an adorable tote in my Japanese Crochet Book (which I love deeply) … but I haven’t quite finished it yet. I think the tote post will have to wait. Here is my dilemma: I love my sewing machine but I hate sewing stuff by hand. I always, always poke myself very badly with pointy needles. Unsurprisingly, the last step to my tote project involves a little hand sewing.

After Christmas, I decided to make some crochet ornaments (created by the exceptional Lucy, at Attic24), which have been making the rounds on crafty blogland. I’m just a little late in the game.

Christmas Ornaments

I ended up making a gaggle of them, and giving them to various people. They were really fun to make.

I’ve also been working (for quite some time now) on my African flowers pillow case… And I finally finished last week!

African Flowers in progress

African Flowers in progress 2

African Flowers Pillow

I just LOVE looking at it! All of the colours make me so happy! You can check out all of the other African Flowers projects on the Flickr page.

OK, I’m off to sew some seat cushions. Time for Boo to break out some ‘stoic’ on me.

2 thoughts on “Wowsers!”

  1. Love the pillowcase – the colors are delightful! Reminds me that I need to get working on my Lucy-inspired afghan. And try to keep those ornaments in mind for Christmas next year. Hope you have a great weekend of crafting 🙂

  2. Those African flowers are lovely, I shall have to try those out. Making squares has become so boring. Seems like a neat way to use up my leftovers.

    P.S. Tell Boo he’s a handsome kitty.

Leave a Reply

