Schoolbus Sketch
Cool Stuff, Current Projects, Geekery

To the Bus! (Part 1)

I recently decided to dress up as Miss Frizzle for Halloween. Why? Because she is awesome. I’ve been learning so much at school about the importance of having students explore, discover and get their hands dirty in order to get a genuinely deep understanding of concepts, and who better demonstrates this than the woman who takes her class inside the human body and out into space?

Miss FrizzleSo, to dress as Miss Frizzle, I will need 1) a red wig, 2) a button front dress with lots of fun objects on it and 3) a bus.

While I’m still working on 1), I have planned out 2) and have procured the items necessary to make it. First off, I found a button front dress at Value Village (I heart this place) and have some white felt that I intend to paint with various space-y shapes. I’m thinking that once I cut these shapes out, I’ll use my sewing machine to attach them to the dress.

I have also started on 3) and I thought it might be fun to share my design process.

Whenever I start something in crochet, I always sketch it out first and I usually take some preliminary measurements, just to make sure I’ve got the scale right. Here are my messy initial sketches:

Schoolbus Sketch

Here is a great picture of the bus that I found on the scholastic website. (They’ve got some more cute images that are intended for colouring-in purposes. Worth checking out if you have kids interested in magic schoolbus stuff. Or if you’re just an overgrown kid like me. I’m not gonna lie, I might colour some stuff later.)

magic schoolbus

A few measurements later, and I’ve decided that I want my bus to be around 40 cm long. It’s kind of big, I know, but I want something substantial to carry around all day. Comparing 40 cm to the length of the cartoon bus, above, I can determine that the height of my bus needs to be around 18 cm. Here’s one side of the bus so far. It’s 56 stitches wide and 34 rows high, made up of single crochet stitches. (I chain one and turn at the end of each row.)

Side of Schoolbus

I’ve decided to construct the back of the bus as a rectangular prism, and attach the hood separately. I want the hood to be less boxy and more round-y. I’m already thinking that I’m just going to glue the windows on with white felt, since I’ll probably run out of steam by the end of October.

All this talk about it makes me want to work on a few more rows before I call it a night. More updates soon!

 

6 thoughts on “To the Bus! (Part 1)”

  1. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much, However
    I am experiencing problems with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody having the same RSS problems?

    Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  2. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its
    a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back
    would be greatly appreciated.

  3. As salam aleykoum frère, A l’instant je n’est rien me venant a l’esprit, mais tu va faire de bonnes che™os.Quâ€sAllah te récompense pour ce que tu fais

  4. the Bush tax … the Bush tax relief helps on this issue, still…my worry is about the 2nd piggyback equity line of credit/loan that got nothin after forclosure. This Heloc is the one that might come after u/me and its an endless worry that can last months to a year, no sleep. Was this answer helpful?

  5. Its so true! Creating the story, from thought to page, the whole process is magical and so is the result.Story telling, in one way or another has always been part of my life and that’s got a lot to do with the thrill I feel at sharing a tale with a willing audience.

Leave a Reply

